Committees 2018

African Union – Peace and Security Council (AU PSC)

The Peace and Security Council serves a similar function to the African Union as the UNSC does to the UN. Besides being the key element of the African Peace and Security Architecture, it is tasked with the prevention, management and resolution of conflicts within the African Unions legislation. One of the key powers of the PSC is the ability to undertake peace-keeping and peace-enforcing missions inside Africa. Additionally the PSC has a wide range of other capabilities towards achieving its mission.


Disarmament and International Security Committee (DISEC)

The Disarmament and International Security Committee, also knowns as the First Committee, is one of the six main organs of the United Nations. It is dealing with all questions of disarmament and the regulation of armaments as well as global threats to peace and security, which do not require the attention of the UNSC. All 193 Member States of the UN are automatically members of the DISEC.


European Council (EC)

The European Council represents the highest level of political cooperation between EU countries and defines the general political direction and priorities of the European Union. As an institution it comprises the heads of state or government of EU member states, the President of the European Commission, President of the European Council as well as the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy.


International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS)

The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea is an international court that was established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS). Its mandate, as defined by the UNCLOS, is to adjudicate disputes arising out of the interpretation and application of the Convention. It is composed out of 21 judges, that are elected for the fairness, integrity and the competence in the field of the law of the sea.


North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization is a military alliance between several European and North American countries that was founded in 1949. Its 29 Member States assure each other military assistance in case of an outside attack. This provision, known as Article 5 of the NATO treaty, has only been invoked once, following the September 11 attacks. Other challenges NATO dealt with counter-piracy, peace-keeping operations and humanitarian missions. Recently, cooperation and mutual training support have become more important again, especially in light of a possible confrontation with Russia.


United Nations Security Council (UNSC)

The United Nations Security Council is one of the six main organs of the United Nations. Its responsibility is the maintenance of international peace and security. It determines the existence of a threat to peace or an act of aggression. It may call on parties to de-escalate a dispute or even command the use of force to solve a conflict. The Security Council is composed of 15 Member States, amongst them the permanent five members that have the right to veto a resolution.