United Nations Security Council (UNSC)

The United Nations Security Council is one of the six main organs of the United Nations. Its responsibility is the maintenance of international peace and security. It determines the existence of a threat to peace or an act of aggression. It may call on parties to de-escalate a dispute or even command the use of force to solve a conflict. The Security Council is composed of 15 Member States, amongst them the permanent five members that have the right to veto a resolution.